The “big news”

I can’t believe that it’s been a month since I last posted. In my previous post, I mentioned that I have big news. Without further ado, here it is:

I have been approved for Social Security Disability.

This means that I will finally actually have some money! At first, I was completely elated by this news. I thought that having an income of some sort would make us more comfortable. This is despite the fact that I knew my payments would amount to less than half of what I made during my first job after college. (I should add that during that time, I was woefully underpaid and living in low-income housing provided by a luxury apartment building so they could get a tax break. It was nice, but it was only available because I was being paid so little!)

I will also be receiving a rather large check amounting to the payments for every month I have been unable to work since January 2012.

I am still very excited about having some money (besides my husband’s). However, I have since found out that Social Security Disability income is taxable. This means that I will lose about a third of it to the government. This makes very little sense to me due to the fact that this is money that was taken out of my paycheck as taxes to begin with! It’s kind of like taxing taxes. (In fact, isn’t that exactly what it is?!)

Well, anything is better than nothing, and this is a heck of a lot better than nothing. I just wish I had known ahead of time that the amount of money I would get would barely be enough to help with our monthly bills, instead of providing a little extra cushion of discretionary income.

I know I really should not complain about this. There are so many people who have to get by on so much less. Also, I am very relieved to be done with the process of applying, getting denied, appealing, having a hearing, etc. That was extremely stressful, and now I know the process was not for nothing. I am also very thankful to my lawyer, whose help was immeasurable.

I have been trying to figure out a way to bring in a little more income while staying within the rules for Social Security and also while continuing to try to maintain my health. I am toying with the idea of blogging for money, although I would always make sure that any advertising would not interfere with this blog’s mission or aesthetics. Any thoughts about this? I would love to hear from you.

One thought on “The “big news”

  1. Congratulations! That’s great news. I cannot BELIEVE that they tax SSDI payout. I guess I should know that they do that, since some of my students have received it or will receive it in the future, but that just seems crappy. Beyond crappy. Grrr. So, for advertisements, I have toyed with monetizing myself, but haven’t done it yet. A lot of my bloggy friends go through BlogHer, which I think you should look into. They do advertising but it all seems like good stuff, not predatory stuff, and BlogHer seems to be a great network and platform for writers in general. I started looking into it but then getting ready for school happened and I sort of lost momentum. But check out BlogHer, maybe it’s a good solution and could possibly open other compensated opportunities through writing as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

